1 month Before Service

Officially one month from today I will be getting on a plane that will be taking me to Macedonia.  This last month I am trying to get in as much fun as possible and enjoy my moments with my family, friends, and OF COURSE, food.  The past two months I have been traveling around the country working for the Student Conservation Association in Georgia and California. It has been a wonderful experience and a great way for me to keep my mind off of the grand adventure I am about to start.

Just a couple months ago I graduated from college, saying good-bye to friendships that were my first support system after leaving my hometown. Now I am on a new journey to create a new support system in Macedonia in a continent that I have never been on, but will be living on for 2 plus years.

Every time someone someone asks me if I am excited and how I am preparing, I am not sure how to respond. I am honestly trying to pack, bit by bit, with the help of my amazing mother, yes Carla Casewit, this is a SHOUT OUT TO YOU, and also try to organize my loans and other tid-bits.

How do you prepare yourself for such a journey?  I have been wondering this and I think the best answer is just getting ready to be flexible and not knowing what will come next.

One of my heroes from my younger years of college, Heather Newell, went to the Peace Corps about 2 years ago.  Ever since then I have wondered if this organization was meant for me. I traveled abroad and taught in a school, which reassured me of my curiosity with this organization.

I started the grueling application process a little less than a year ago, knowing that I wanted to serve with the Peace Corps.

Today I sit in my wonderful new bed (thank you mom and dad), overwhelmed, but excited for this new journey that awaits me.

My best friend (and boy friend) in the entire world asked me questions about how the Peace Corps is going to change me. I don’t know, I think this is all part of a waiting game.

Not to end of a cliche note but, I will always have to remind myself that it is not the destination, but the journey for the next 28 months.

Please check my blog once every couple of weeks. Who knows what’ll happen in Macedonia.

2 thoughts on “1 month Before Service

Leave a Reply

